The Pearl of the Pacific (La Perla del Pacífico)

Me, as well as my co-citizens from Zaruma, shared the dream to achieve educational enlargement for a quality education, migrated from my little piece of heaven to a non so heavenly place..

At the age of 16, I had my first experience outside my hometown, I spent 4 months studying in this city where I could get in to college, but it wasn’t until I turned 17 when I estabished permanently in Guayaquil, The Pearl of the Pacific.

The truth is that the experience was overwhelming, and it still is.. To change life in a city with about 20 thousand people, really low illiteracy rate and a almost non existent crime rate for one with 4 million people, serious poverty and delincuency issues wasn’t precisely the easiest thing to do in the world.. But everything is worth it for a good cause (ME).

The radical change between walking half hour to arrive one place and to take pubic transportation (because the private one was not possible) and to travel 1 hour to arrive the final destination was really hard to assimilate, until my body got used to travel uncomfortable, to forget the noise or the heat and specially paranoia (in case of traffic accident or inminent robbery) and enjoy, no matter the conditions of an enriching hobby, reading.

I think that the worst part was to adapt my economy (well, my parent’s) to this new challenge, a city is always more expensive than a town, it’s impossible to be without money in the pocket, or hidden in the socks in case paranoia for an assault attacks. In fact, it’s mandatory to have money if someone tries to rob you, because the thief can let you half dead for being «chiro» (someone without money).

Well, it was a brutal change, seeing it from all the different viewpoints you can imagine.. But all «suffering» has a reward. Guayaquil is an amazing city from any aspect, is an autentic city, full of genuine people and without poses, you can grow up until the limit you want to reach, Guayaquil gives oportunities to those who want to see and take.

Guayaquil moves to an accelerated rythm, but with calm at the same time, such as «The Gentle Guayas», like the iguanas frisking in the sun. Take a walk in Barrio Las Peñas, to climb the four hundred something stairs in Cerro Santa Ana, to walk in Malecon 2000, to go seeking a tasty «Encebollado».

Guayaquil has a lot to offer, lamentably, it has a tough reality, a magnificent city is hidden by a shadow of delincuency and poverty. But there it is, as a backroung, all those working fighting people, the city that resurfaced from ruins, the economical capital of the country, and thousands of more qualities.

I will be honest, I grew up in a calm place, but migrate to a big city, made me realize I can’t go back. I have  always tried to find and achieve the professional growth and Guayaquil, more than any other city can offer me that. Mi little piece of heaven will always be my resting and relaxing paradise; but, in order to rest and relax, It’s necessary to have worked first.

Guayaquil, The Pearl of the Pacific, a city that has welcomed me during 5 years of my life, a place that has given me so much!. Don’t be afraid of Guayaquil. Live it!.. and If you are robbed don’t worry, it’s part of the experience.. (hahaha just kidding)

Deja un comentario